The Governing Council (GC) is a steering committee for the Australia-NZ IODP Consortium, and looks after broad policy. Its 2019 membership is listed below. Professor Stephen Eggins, the Director of the Research School of Earth Sciences at ANU is responsible for the ANZIC office.

The GC holds four Governing Council Meetings per annum.

Ian Poiner – Chair/Independent Scientist

Richard Arculus – Lead CI/ANU

Leanne Armand – ANZIC Program Scientist/ANU

Stephen Eggins – ANU

Ben Clennell – CSIRO/University of Western Australia

Stuart Henrys – GNS Science

Lorna Strachan – University of Auckland

Mick Coffin – Science Committee Chair/University of Tasmania

Craig Sloss – Queensland University of Technology

Chris Yeats – Geological Survey of NSW

Neville Exon AM – ANU

Simon George – Macquarie University

Jody Webster – University of Sydney

Oliver Nebel – Monash University

Helen Bostock – UQ